Starting July 1, 2010, the State of Colorado’s DUI law just got tougher. Repeat drunk drivers will have to spend time in jail under a new law, House Bill 1347. This Bill requires second-time offenders to face a minimum of 10 days in jail and third-time offenders a minimum of two months in jail. The maximum penalty for each crime remains one year in jail.
This legislation was due to the fact that many different judges throughout the state were interpreting the law differently. Some gave more time in jail, some less or just community service. Now the new Bill has set guidelines for judges to follow. If you are a repeat offender, you are going to jail for at least 10 days. Third time offender, you’ll be doing two months time in jail.
According to the Colorado State Patrol, approximately 200 people died in drunken driving related crashes in Colorado last year. This averages out to one person every 43 hours. In addition, to jail time, fines average $10,000 for someone convicted of DUI.
Last year’s Fourth of July weekend saw 572 DUI arrests. With this new law, will there be enough jail cells to hold all the drunken drivers for at least 10 days in jail?